QuickLinks   

Umpire Coaches/Assessors & Mentors

This is a new initiative to help promote the development of umpires within the clubs. The following have agreed to act as their Club's Umpire Advisor. They will largely be based at their home ground and be there to help all umpires. Our advisors are experienced umpires/players who will be able to offer tips and practical advice on all aspects of umpiring. They can mentor junior and candidate umpires guiding them towards gaining their Level-1 Umpiring award.

Terry Ransom Broadland terryransom@hotmail.co.uk
Shane Barnes Dereham shane.d.barnes@barclayscorporate.com
Vaughan Dearling Harleston vhcdearling@hotmail.com
Gary Bloodworth Lowestoft Railway drive121@aol.com
Andy Hepburn Lowestoft Railway a.hepburn@hotmail.com
Mike Bartram North Walsham mike-bartram@hotmail.co.uk
Joy Massingham North Walsham joyandmick80@yahoo.co.uk
John Butler Norwich Dragons johnbutts@btinternet.com
Hazel Medler Norwich Dragons hazelmedler@btinternet.com
Robin Brundle Pelicans robin.brundle@brundle.co.uk
Collin Picton Pelicans collin.picton@btinternet.com
Avril Mallett Sprowston info@norfolk-hockey.co.uk

 

This is just a start, eventually we'd like an advisor for evey club in Norfolk. If anyone is interested in becoming an Umpire Advisor please contact Alan Jones in the first instance.

Level-1 Umpiring Award - Unassessed/Assessed

After successfully completing the online theory test and attended an EH Level-1 Course umpires enter the system as Level-1 unassessed umpires, known as Club Umpire grade "B". After gaining some umpiring experience, umpires can ask NHUA to be assessed to Club Umpire Grade "A". For this they need to contact NHUA and arrange for one of our Umpire Coaches to watch and assess them umpiring a suitable game of hockey. The Coach has to watch them umpire a complete game of hockey (not Mini Hockey or a school game) but can be a mixed game, a game within the club, but not a practice game or any league game (East Leagues or Norfolk Women's League). Out of courtesy the captains should be informed. A list of our Umpire Coaches/Assessors is given below. After assessment the umpire will be given a coaching report giving the performance score for various asspects of umpiring and some guidance on areas to develop. If successful, a copy of the report goes to England Hockey and the Umpire is upgraded to Club Umpire A status.
 
The new EH Level-1 Umpiring Courses are set up and administered central by EH. Details on the EH website.

(Umpire coaches/assessors are still needed to develop umpires and bring them through from club umpiring to county standard.)

Here is the current list of NHUA Umpire Coaches/Assessors:

Peter Butcher 01986 895578 janetandpetebutcher@talktalk.net
Mike Bartram 01692 405560 debra@bartram6272.freeserve.co.uk
James Colley 07772 588404 james_d_colley@hotmail.com
Tim Crafer 01328 830242 tcrafer@acsmail.net
Leo DeSalis 07517 220535 richard.desalis@btinternet.com
Mike Doble 01603 560159 mikedoble43@hotmail.com
Paul Gallop 07786 390108 gallop_paul@yah00.co.uk
Sheila George 01493 752189 smg.68@btinternet.com
Gary Gotts 07765 155848 gotts.g@tiscali.co.uk
Norman Hart 01379 852189  
Julia Hutchinson 01603 411924 jules-hutchinson@tiscali.co.uk
Alan Jones 01603 747956 alan@wittsend.co.uk
Rod Larwood 01953 717937 rodlar88@btinternet.com
Peter Lemon 01553 844572 peter@middaggs.co.uk
Trevor Norman 07940 493032 trevdnorman@hotmail.com
Mike Pepper 01502 741570 mikehpepper@hotmail.com
Colin Picton 07885 135617 collin.picton@btinternet.com
David Rose 07721 742407 daw.rose@virgin.net
Denise West 01263 511670 doddywest@hotmail.com
Peter Williams 01502 572552 cwm.rhondda@btopenworld.com


Note that we appreciate more than a day's notice that you would like to be assessed - plan ahead!

Hockey Development

DC / AC 2017-18

Norfolk Hockey run Summer Development Centres (DCs) and Academy Centres (AC) for the U13 to U17 age groups. The journey starts with players attending summer DCs, players are then invited to complete an appliaction form for the Norfolk Academy.

Read More

Umpiring Association

Find out about training courses

The Association was founded in 1996 following a merger between the Norfolk County Hockey Umpires Association (men) and Norfolk Women's Hockey Umpires Association. Since 1999 both sections have been totally integrated and run as one

Read More

EH Player Pathway

One Vision; One System

The Player Pathway aims to provide the best possible talent development experiences for all players. 
 
Find out more information on the England Hockey website.

Read More